ASA financial literacy workshops for women 55+

The Australian Shareholders’ Association (ASA) is running workshops across Australia in 2019 to empower women 55+ with an understanding of basic investment and financial concepts and build confidence to participate in financial decision-making.
If you have never attended an education event about managing finances or investments, or do not know where the funding for your retirement comes from, you will benefit from these workshops. Each workshop is one half-day and they are free to attend, as they are funded by a Financial Literacy Australia grant.

For details of the locations, dates and times of the workshops, visit the ASA website at

Locations, dates and time for first series of 2019 workshops

Melbourne Tue 19 Mar 9.00 – 12.30pm – Bookings now open for March
Melbourne Wed 20 Mar 9.00 – 12.30pm
Brisbane Mon 25 Mar 9.00 – 12.30pm
Brisbane Tue 26 Mar 9.00 – 12.30pm
Toowoomba Wed 27 Mar 9.00 – 12.30pm
Sunshine Coast Thu 28 Mar 9.00 – 12.30pm
Canberra Mon 8 Apr 1.30 – 5.00pm – Booking will open in March
Batemans Bay Tue 9 Apr 9.00 – 12.30pm
Canberra Wed 10 Apr 9.00 – 12.30pm
Wagga Wagga Thu 11 Apr 9.00 – 12.30pm
Hobart Mon 15 Apr 9.00 – 12.30pm
Hobart Mon 15 Apr 1.30 – 5.00pm
Launceston Tue 16 Apr 9.00 – 12.30pm

Further locations will be confirmed at later date.

For details of the locations, dates and times of the workshops, visit the ASA website at


Illawarra Regional Group – 2018 Annual Luncheon:

John O’Dwyer OAM, David Rossiter OAM, Sandra McCarthy OAM, John Archer OAM,
Kathy Rossiter, Mike Rossiter, Lyn Thompson OAM

Illawarra Branch Regional Convener John O’Dwyer welcomed 82 people originally to our 22nd Annual Luncheon on Saturday 10th November 2018.

Among those welcomed were State Chairman John Archer OAM, Guest Speakers

Mike and Kathy Rossiter, new recipients Barry Glover OAM, Sandra McCarthy OAM and

Jeff McCarthy and David Reiken OAM.

Following a Most enjoyable meal Brian Mackander OAM introduced Guest Speakers

Mike and Kathy Rossiter who spoke about Mercy ships and their volunteer work on one of the ships.  Since 1978 Mercy Ships have provided free surgeries and medical treatment for injured people who have no other hope for medical care.

A vote of thanks to Mike and Kathy was given by Jim Lyon.

Our surf lifesaving recipients were acknowledged.

Members were once again very happy with the venue, the food and the warm, friendly service given.

Our Mid-Year Luncheon was held on Saturday 10th November 2018 Dapto Leagues Club, Bong Bong Street Dapto. Our Guest Speaker was Lew Troman, who is an MS Ambassador.


How Refugees Saved a Town

The problem for Nhill, population 2184, is not a lack of jobs — its unemployment rate is just 3.6 per cent, well under the national average. Just about anyone who comes to town, be they professionals or labourers, can find work. Its perennial conundrum is getting people to come and keeping them.

Read this article from The Australian on how Order of Australia recipents, John and Margaret Millington helped the township of Nhill


National Chairman’s AGM Address May 2018.

Click here to download and read the address

The Symbols of Queensland – The Maltese Cross and the Colour Maroon

At the Annual Dinner of the Queensland Branch held on Monday 19 March 2018. An excellent address by MAJGEN Prof John Pearn AO KStJ RFD

“The Symbols of Queensland The Maltese Cross and the Colour Maroon”

Click here to read the address and here to download the PowerPoint (in PDF format)

Notification Change of Auditor:

Resigning Auditors:
Mr Michael Port, DFK Kidsons, Melbourne, VIC
Appointed Auditors:
Mr Anthony Bandle, Bandle McAneney & Co, Deakin West, ACT
Date of change: 16th February 2018
Reason for change: Location of auditor

P L Morrall AM, CSC
National Secretary
16 February 2018

National Chairman meets Tasmanian Branch Committee members in Launceston February 2018

Back: John Thorne AM (Tasmanian President). Alastair Douglas OAM, Sue Shea OAM, Therese von Samorzewski OAM, Frank Madill AM and Maureen Oates OAM. Front: Barry Nunn AO, RFD, ED, Nicholas Chantler AM, and Clive Lee AM. Not pictured is Maureen Rudge OAM.