About Us

The SA Branch of the Order of Australia Association was officially formed in 1980. The South Australian branch of the Association is one of eight branches. It comprises metropolitan members centred in and around Adelaide and six regional groups.

The SA Branch arranges meetings and outings for its members supported by Regional Group meetings once or twice each year. Functions arranged by the Branch Committee include:

  • New Recipients receptions at the time of the April and September Investitures held by the Governor of South Australia.
  • A Queen’s Birthday luncheon.
  • Multi-faith Celebration of Australia Day.
  • Selected visits to such as the Maritime Museum, Glass Blowing laboratory, Art Gallery of South Australia.

The Branch also invites all schools and Colleges in South Australia to nominate up to two students from Years 11 and/or 12 for the Branch Student Citizenship Awards.

One of the main aims of each Branch of The Order of Australia Association is to raise awareness about The Order of Australia and the process through which awards are granted. The Branch Office regularly distributes information to those who are seeking to submit a nomination.